Amazon Region Protected Areas Program (Arpa)

    ARPA is the world’s largest tropical forest protection initiative. Its goal is to conserve and promote the sustainable use of 60 million hectares – 12% of the Amazon region – by 2018. Funbio manages the financial resources, procures goods and services for the protected areas, and manages the assets from the Protected Areas Fund. In its second phase (2010-2015), Arpa will support the creation of 13.5 million more hectares of protected areas and consolidate around 32 million hectares. ARPA is currently supporting the consolidation of 95 protected areas in the Amazon and the creation of a further 20 by supporting the drafting of management plans, the formation of management boards, boundary demarcation and land tenure arrangement, the supply of amenities and infrastructure, and covering recurring costs such as fuel, materials, and low-cost local services. In 2013 ARPA selected 12 Sustainable Action Plans and two Indigenous People’s Action Plans for the implementation of community projects in the protected areas buffer zones. It also finished three preliminary environmental assessments, one preliminary socioenvironmental assessment, and one public consultation process for the creation of protected areas. The investments for 2013 include funding for the following activities: preparation of management plans; holding of meetings of the management councilsof protected areas; activities addressingboundary demarcation and land tenure issues;preparation and implementation of protection plans; and acquisition of basic equipment for the management of the protected areas. Click here to access the latest rendering of accounts The program was structured in three phases interdependent and continuous to be executed sequentially until 2016. The continuity of the shares after the completion of these phases will be ensured through the establishment of mechanisms for generating revenue for the units, as the case of Protected Areas Fund – FAP, whose earnings will fund the maintenance of consolidation permanently. As a result, ten protected areas reached the basic level of boundary demarcation and resolution of land tenure issues:

  • Antônio Mujica Nava/Serra dos Três Irmãos Ecological Station
  • Xingu State Park
  • Juruena National Park
  • Serra do Divisor National Park
  • Alto TarauacáExtractivist Reserve
  • ArapixiExtractivist Reserve
  • Rio UniniExtractivist Reserve
  • Rio JutaíExtractivist Reserve
  • Rio XinguExtractivist Reserve
  • Niquiá Ecological Station

Two protected areas attained an advanced level of boundary demarcation and resolution of land tenure issues, making them eligible to receive resources from the Protected Areas Fund:

  • Jarú Biological Reserve
  • Cantão State Park

The operational plans for 2014-2015 were approved by the Program Committee and the planning of inputswas consolidated together with the protected areas concerned. Three workshops were also held in Brasília to prepare the Annual Operational Plan for 2014-2015, with one manager from each protected area supported by ARPA taking part. In 2014,the ARPA capacity building plan will be finished, as will the design and negotiation of a new long-term funding strategy called ARPA for Life. The new strategy will create a transition fund that will make decreasing investments while the government undertakes to gradually increase its investment in protected areas until it covers all the costs, over a period of 25 years. TheProtected Areas Fund, an endowment fund of which only the earnings will be used for fully legalized protected areas, will compose the transition fundin this new phase. The Protected Areas Fund ended 2013 with around 30.1 million dollars and 60.5 million reais.

01. Esec da Terra do Meio 02. Esec de Maracá 03. Esec de Maracá Jipioca 04. Esec de Niquiá 05. Esec do Grão Pará 06. Esec do Jari 07. Esec do Rio Ronuro 08. Esec do Rio Roosevelt 09. Esec Juami-Japurá 10. Esec Rio Acre 11. Esec Serra dos Trés Irmãos 12. Pe Chandless 13. Pe Cristalino 14. Pe da Serra das Andorinhas 15. Pe de Corumbiara 16. Pe de Guajará-Mirim 17. Pe do Cantão 18. Pe do Matupiri 19. Pe do Xingu 20. Pe Guariba 21. Pe Igarapés do Juruena 22. Pe Rio Negro Setor Norte 23. Pe Rio Negro Setor Sul 24. Pe Serra Ricardo Franco 25. Pe Sucunduri 26. Parna da Serra da Cutia 27. Parna da Serra do Divisor 28. Parna da Serra do Pardo 29. Parna de Anavilhanas 30. Parna do Cabo Orange 31. Parna do Jamanxim 32. Parna do Jaú 33. Parna do Juruena 34. Parna do Rio Novo 35. Parna dos Campos Amazônicos 36. Parna Mont. do Tumucumaque 37. Parna Nascentes do Lago Jari 38. Parna Serra da Mocidade 39. Parna Viruá 40. Rebio de Maicuru 41. Rebio do Gurupi 42. Rebio do Jaru 43. Rebio do Lago Piratuba 44. Rebio do Rio Trombetas 45. Rebio do Tapirapé 46. Rebio do Uatumã 47. Rds Itatupã-Baquiá 48. Rds Aripuanã 49. Rds Amanã 50. Rds Bararati 51. Rds Cujubim 52. Rds do Juma 53. Rds do Rio Iratapuru 54. Rds do Rio Madeira 55. Rds do Rio Negro 56. Rds do Uatumã 57. Rds Igapó-Açu 58. Rds Piagaçu Purus 59. Rds Rio Amapá 60. Rds Uacari 61. Resex do Rio Cautário 62. Resex Alto Tarauacá 63. Resex Arapixi 64. Resex Arióca Pruanã 65. Resex Auati-Paraná 66. Resex Baixo Juruá 67. Resex Barreiro das Antas 68. Resex Canutama 69. Resex Catuá-Ipixuna 70. Resex Cazumbá-Iracema 71. Resex Chico Mendes 72. Resex de Cururupu 73. Resex do Guariba 74. Resex do Lago Capanã Grande 75. Resex do Médio Purús 76. Resex do Rio Gregório 77. Resex do Rio Jutai 78. Resex Guariba-Roosevelt 79. Resex Ipaú-Anilzinho 80. Resex Ituxi 81. Resex Mapuá 82. Resex Maracanã 83. Resex Médio Juruá 84. Resex Renascer 85. Resex Rio Cajari 86. Resex Rio Cautário 87. Resex Rio Iriri 88. Resex Rio Ouro Preto 89. Resex Rio Preto-Jacundá 90. Resex Rio Unini 91. Resex Rio Xingu 92. Resex Riozinho da Liberdade 93. Resex Riozinho do Anfrísio 94. Resex Terra Grande Pracuúba 95. Resex Verde para Sempre